The Heisman Trophy and Winners From Alabama

The Heisman Trophy is defined as an award given to “the outstanding college football player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence and integrity.  Winners epitomize great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work”.  Currently, there have been five college football athletes who have been bestowed this great honor within the great state of Alabama.  Three of these wonderful athletes played for Auburn University and two of them played for the University of Alabama.  These five men have proved they have phenomenal skills on the football field.

The Heisman Trophy is presented annually to the chosen football player prior to the postseason bowl games, in early December.  Originally created as an award to be presented to the most valuable college player east of the Mississippi, after 1936 and the death of the Downtown Athletic Club’s director, John Heisman, the award began to include the entire country, as well.  John Heisman was an avid athlete himself. After playing football in college, he became head coach of various football, basketball, and baseball teams, and eventually became athletic director of the Downtown Athletic Club, who created the Heisman Trophy Award in 1935.

Continue reading “The Heisman Trophy and Winners From Alabama”